The house of La Era was, together with the Church of Our Lady of Los Remedios, one of the buildings that survived the fury of the volcano during the eruptions that uninterruptedly ravaged Lanzarote between 1730 and 1736.

In the beginning, the house was inhabited by a landowner of the wheat and the barley at the time in which the two most oriental islands of the Archipelago, Lanzarote and Fuerteventura, were considered the barns of the Canary Islands. The house still retains the two doors of what was a great oven. Later it was the home of wealthy landowners who were engaged in the barilla trade, a wild plant from whose ashes, once burned in ovens, a product was obtained similar to the soda used in the production of soap and glass. Such was the importance and value of the barilla in centuries past, which motivated pirate incursions.

In the summer of 1966, Cesar Manrique returns from New York to settle permanently in his homeland.

César Manrique decides to install an artistic center in the island, next to its narrow collaborator in that time Luis Ibáñez. Both decide to investigate separately the appropriate enclave and find a unique old house, a reflection of the traditional architecture, with a great central patio to which they gave the dependencies, realizing that the two had put their eyes in La Era. Once acquired, they undertake the restoration of the building, realizing that the best destination would be, a restaurant dedicated to Canarian cuisine.

In 1968 the La Era Restaurant opens its doors. With the passing of the years it would become a reference of the Canarian gastronomy.

The name of La Era, is due to the age of threshing, of great dimensions that existed in the back of the house.

La Era has an undoubted patrimonial value, being declared as good of cultural interest.